My OH SO YUMMY! Snickerdoodle Recipe

10245399_10203547324746459_6766720940200624144_n

So for those of you who don’t know me yet…I am an AVID chef and baker. I currently work at an Alzheimer and dementia facility  ( my last day is tomorrow ) where I baked..  A LOT. With the residents I worked with its crucial for them to eat, so of course, the food I made was delicious..it was made with butter! haha. No but seriously, my friends, family members of my residents (we call them residents not patients), and coworkers would ask for my recipes, and all I could tell them was, ” I can give you the ingredients…but I dont really measure so….yeah.” SoI posted my blog on Facebook, and I had a friend message me saying she wanted the recipe of my FAMOUS SNICKERDOODLE RECIPE.

*CAUTION!!!* These cookies are highly addictive! Also you can actually roll these cookies out and cut them up with a cookie cutter and make them into cute little shapes! OR add sprinkles to them and call them SPRINKLEDOODLES like I normally do!

So let me say this first and foremost, baking and cooking is an art, with that in mind, remember to FEEL if you need anything else in ANY of the recipes I post. Sometimes you just might need more flour or butter (NEVER could go wrong with more butter right?…ok maybe you can…I shall post healthy recipes as well dont worry!) So without further adieu….

Snickerdoodle/Sprinkle doodle cookies

This recipe makes approximately 5 DOZEN cookies…but if you’re making shapes and all that fun stuff then you just might have less.

PREHEAT oven 400 degrees…SIDENOTE! Every oven is different!!!! So, with this in mind I would suggest heat you roven to 350 FIRST and make a test batch! It should take about 8 minutes to 10 minutes. If it takes longer pump that sucker up to 400 then bake 6-8 minutes or until your level of DONE/Crunchy/soft as you like them is obtained

5 cups flour

1 1/2 cups butter NOT MARGARINE! BUTTER! I like using nonsalted sweet cream butter

2 cups white sugar

4 eggs

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla I like adding more vanilla it all depends on you…I am NOT talking about 1/2 s cup or anything like that but just enough where you can smell it baking so make it like 3 teaspoons

1 teaspoon salt

Now comes the cinnamon…

Some LOVE cinnamon, some only like a hint of it…depending on your taste or mood you can go and add 1-6 teaspoons of it OR you can FEEL it (use those senses! Dont worry you will get better at this FEELY stuff if you try and bake more of my recipes!) if the batter is Too brown YOU PUT TOO MUCH! but if it only has a few specks…well add more.

Mix the wet ingredients all together! Sugar, salt, egg,vanilla, and butter *for the butter you can cream it or partially melt it, either way its going in the fridge again for a bit so its easy to roll and cut out*

Gently add the flour in and mix/fold in

But the mixture into the fridge for about 30 minutes or until slightly firm

Powder your surface with some flour, flour your rolling pin and roll out the dough to your desired level of thickness but keep it to about 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch.

For Sprinkledoodles add the sprinkles to the flour before you gently fold it in.

I believe if you only use your spatula or spoon to mix its not baking! GET DOWN AND DIRTY into your dough its fun and it allows you to FEEL if you need any more ingredients

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My OH SO YUMMY! Snickerdoodle Recipe

Leave a Reply

