Eggplant Parmesan

So I have been slacking on adding recipes to the blog, I am sorry I just cant believe how fast time flies. Tonight we had a friend over and I decided to do an Italian dish. For those of you who know me, I LOVE Italian food, culture, and basically anything to do with Italy. So, I make Italian food quite frequently. I am currently waiting for my husband to buy us our Kitchen Aid mixer so I can make home made pasta, because nothing taste better than homemade pasta! So tonight I wanted to make my famous eggplant Parmesan with homemade sauce! Since I am so nice I wanted to share it with you !
Ingredients (Serves 3)
1 large Eggplant- Now I know there are various species of eggplant, but for this recipe use the typical European or American eggplant and not the Asian or aka Japanese eggplant. How to tell the difference? The shape. The American/European are more round/ovoid looking while the Japanese or Asian eggplant are long and skinny.Just think American = obese Japanese = skinny trust me it will help.
Fresh Mozzarella- Do not use the one that come in the KRAFT bags…we need the good stuff!
bread crumbs
Parmesan cheese (not the one in the shaker…ACTUAL wedge cheese to grate on top of your finished dish)
Fresh basil
For the Sauce
1 Can of tomatoes (If you like a lot of sauce then use 2 28 oz cans)
Oregano
Thyme – If you can get FRESH Thyme that’s better, but if you can’t just use the powder…dont worry I wont judge.
2 small or 1 medium carrot – grate this
Garlic
Onion
Eggplant
Heat the oven to 450
Remove skin if you like, I do.
Cut the eggplant so they look like little saucers, place on baking sheet and place in oven for 15 minutes
Take them out and let cool completely
Once they have cooled take them and place some sauce over them, not too much. After that place a piece of fresh mozzarella cover with more sauce then place some bread crumbs over the top of this concoction. You can add another piece of eggplant so its like the cheese and the sauce are sandwiched between the two pieces but I just kept it with only once piece of eggplant because I made pasta to go along side it.
Directions for Sauce
Chop onion and garlic and saute in pan until golden brown
Add the thyme, grated carrot, fresh basil. fresh or powdered thyme let cook for about five minutes
Squish the tomatoes with your hands (yup, thats right get down and dirty with it) into a pot allowing all the juices to enter the pot with the rest of the juice from the can. *CAREFUL!!!THE JUICE MIGHT GET ON YOUR CLOTHES DEPENDING ON HOW YOU SQUISH SO WEAR AN APRON!!!*
Dont forget to taste your sauce in the process to make sure you have enough salt and pepper. (Side note: I dont put salt and pepper in the ingredients because it is something as you the chef get to decide.
Hope you like it and if you have questions let me know.

4\

Leave a Reply

