Hummingbird Cake

hummingbird-cake-ay-lSo my best friend texted me to send send her more of my recipes. I am sorry that I have been unable to, my laptop took a dive and I am currently using my husbands…ok I kinda took his laptop and was like ‘what are yoou going to do about it?!” Needless to say I am only using it when he is either asleep or at work…he is at work at the moment. So I thought long and hard about what recipes to give to my beloved best friend and I have decided to give her my FAMOUS (as far as residents go) Hummingbird cake recipe. Now, for those of you who know what it is, its a Southern cake and pretty much the yummiest concoction topped and filled with cream cheese. I made this cake for a resident and his wife’s wedding anniversary. She didnt really talk but the smell of the cake made her take a handful of it, eat it, then smile, which melted her husbands heart and nearly burst me in to tears. Its delicious and needs to be eaten in moderation, so I suggest making cupcakes out of this badboy because you might just want more than one….cake.
I have yet to make it for my husband….since he has yet to buy my my kitchen aide….but when that day comes….BE PREPARED FOR A CRAP load of recipes and pictures because I have been dormant WAY TOO LONG! I NEED to bake….its in my blood.
So, without further adieu….I give you…

Hummingbird Cake
Ingredients
Unsalted butter, for greasing
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
1 cup pecan pieces
3 ripe bananas, chopped
1/2 cup finely chopped fresh pineapple
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
For the Frosting:
2 packages cream cheese (8 ounces each), at room temperature
12 tablespoons unsalted butter, cubed, at room temperature
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest

Now I am PRETTY sure yall know how to mix a cake by now….wet with wet (which includes sugar) dry with dry (dont forget to sift them together)
oh and for the frosting…..USE AN ELECTRIC MIXER!!!! If you dont the chunks of cream cheese just wont be pretty.
Enjoy dolls! More next time!
XoXo – L

*Picture provided by my Google image search*

Leave a Reply

