Foodie Friday! Game Day Food

Ok So I have decided that Friday’s will be Foodie Friday! I will either post up a restaurant review, pictures, or recipes that I have. Its something that I told myself I would start doing for the New Year and with my hectic schedule AND my husband hogging the laptop (I have yet to get a replacement for myself) I have  decided that Foodie Friday will be my little thing I do.

So with that in mind lets talk about GAME DAY!

Yup, Football season is at a close and with Feb 1st coming up what are some great things you guys like to eat? Cheese sticks? stuffed mushrooms? those cute little cocktail weenies wrapped in crescent wrap?Personally I LOVE it all, but there is ONE thing that I just HAVE to have… spinach and artichoke dip! My husband LOVES the stuff and I am SOOO glad that I don’t make it often because he would probably would eat nothing else. What I also love about spinach and artichoke dip is that it can be added to burgers! For those of you who dont know me…I LOVE burgers…and brunch. Anyway, back to the subject and the recipe!

Ingredients

1 cup thawed, chopped frozen spinach

1 1/2 cups thawed, chopped frozen artichoke hearts

6 ounces cream cheese

1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions

Boil spinach and artichoke in 1 cup water until tender. Drain and discard liquid. Heat cream cheese in microwave for 1 minute or until soft. Stir in the rest of the ingredients and serve hot. Another option is to mix all ingredients in an oven safe dish and bake for 20 minutes at 375 F until the top is golden brown and the cheese is bubbling.

Serve with toasted bread, crackers or tortilla chips. For a lighter version serve with baby carrots, celery and sliced bell peppers. Add it to BURGERS chicken strips….hell, grab a spoon. Make that game day treat that just cant be beat!

Leave a Reply

